In Sickness And In Health

Posted: April 11, 2013 in Personal Growth
Tags: , , , , , ,

“In sickness and in health” is a verse usually reserved for wedding vows, but these words sprang to my mind this week at my workplace. I though to myself, why is that a few of my co workers, who shall remain nameless believe they will be regarded as “real troopers” who carry on regardless of illness, never taking a sick day because “they are for pussies”. I believe they think they are indispensable.

Well sure, when someone is off sick we all have to pick up the slack, but we still manage to get everything done. What really annoys me is that because these self centred people come to work with their colds, flues and gastric bugs its not too long before others go down with it and then we have a continuous round of pass the bucket.

We are not married to our jobs, well at least most of us aren’t so ‘in sickness and in health’ should not apply here. I sometimes wonder why workers who get sick feel they are doing everyone else a favour by continuing to work instead of staying home, getting rest and getting well. No body thinks you are Superman or Wonder Woman for working while you are coughing your guts up or running to the toilet every few minutes. Your co workers don’t want you there and neither do the customers!! So stay home….otherwise it just might be “Until death do us part”

One worker after a bout of coughing, came up for air long enough for me to ask if he was okay. He said “yeah, yeah all good just a cold” “Oh” I said with a concerned look on my face. “Do you realise how many germs you just spread around the shop during your coughing fit?” Nah,it’s all good”  he said “I had my hand over my mouth”….and he did but I have seen what sprays out into the air when people (even me) sneeze or cough. When the light is just right, streaming through the window catching the tiniest of dust particles your realise just what is contained in the air around you.

I find myself holding my breath a lot in my workplace and so far this year I have had a few bouts of illness that warranted antibiotics, but I stayed at home to ensure I wasn’t spreading my germs. Sometimes I think I’m wasting my time but then most days I know it takes one person to make a difference, write a blog and get others thinking about how they contribute to the illness of those around them.

"Cover Coughs, Cover Sneezes" - NARA...

“Cover Coughs, Cover Sneezes” – NARA – 514081 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Comments
  1. Mischievious Mum says:

    Absolutely! I think its time to speak up and tell these germ spreading people to go home and stop spreading those germs! Are people actually considered troopers to come to work when they are sick?…or do people really see them as silly. Sick days were created so that people could stay home when they are sick! Trooper I don’t think so! 🙂

    • rasajack says:

      Thanks for you comment Mischievious Mum, I think there are a lot of people who believe it is wrong to have a sickie, that its a sign of weakness. But with the new and often resistant strains of flu each year it is getting harder to combat them with drugs. I really feel for the elderly, those whose immune systems are compromised and children. All of us need to be more aware of how we contribute to both health and sickness in ourselves and others. It may just be a mild flu to me but it could be so much more to an elderly person.

      • Mischievious Mum says:

        absolutely Rasajack! Its a timely point of view now that we are coming into winter! xo

  2. […] In Sickness And In Health (lobotomiseme.wordpress.com) […]

Sorry, my office is presently unattended. Please leave your comments and I will get back to you shortly.

